Ministry	Name	Date of Formation of Ministry	Ministry	Name	Date of Formation of Ministry
1 2 3 4	Hon. Alex. Rutherford Hon. A. L. Sifton Hon. Charles Stewart Hon. Herbert Greenfield	May 26, 1910 Oct. 13, 1917	5 6 7 8	Hon. R. G. REID Hon. WM. ABERHART	July 10, 1934 Sept. 13, 1935

46.—Premiers of Alberta since Confederation, 1905-59

47.—Legislatures of Alberta, 1935-59, as at Oct. 31, 1959

Norg.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 82, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 117.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948 Aug. 5, 1952 June 29, 1955 June 18, 1959	8th	9 4 5 5 3 5	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953 Aug. 17, 1955	Feb. 16, 1940 July 7, 1944 July 16, 1948 June 28, 1952 May 12, 1955 May 9, 1959 1

¹ Legislature not yet in session at Oct. 31, 1959.

48.-Eighth Ministry of Alberta, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 18, 1959: 61 Social Credit, 1 Liberal, 1 Progressive Conservative, 1 Coalition and 1 Independent Social Credit.)

Note.-Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment ¹	
Premier, President of Council, Minister of Mines and Minerals, and Attorney General Minister of Highways Minister of Education Minister of Agriculture Minister of Agriculture Minister of Lands and Forests Minister of Public Welfare Provincial Treasure. Minister of Public Works Minister of Public Works Minister of Industry and Development and Provincial Scoretary. Minister of Labour and Minister of Telephones Minister of Health	Hon. ALFRED J. HOOKE Hon. GORDON E. TAYLOR. Hon. ANDERS O. AALBORG. Hon. ROONARD C. HALMRAST Hon. NORMAN A. WILLMORE Hon. ROBIN D. JORGENSON. Hon. ROBIN D. JORGENSON. Hon. JAMES HARTLEY. Hon. FRED. C. COLBORNE Hon. A. RUSSELL PATRICK Hon. A. RUSSELL PATRICK.	Apr. 20, 1945 Dec. 27, 1950 Sept. 9, 1952 Jan. 3, 1953 Nov. 10, 1953 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955	(May 31, 1943) (Sept. 16, 1952) Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 May 1, 1951 Sept. 9, 1952 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 1, 1959 Sept. 1, 1959 Sept. 18, 1957	

¹ Minister not necessarily sworn in on date of appointment.

Subsection 10.-British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 52 members.